Google Drive to Add Blocking Feature

You’ll be able to block unwanted users from accessing your files. Google announced a new feature for their Drive file-sharing and storage service, one that has been oft-requested by...

You’ll be able to block unwanted users from accessing your files.

Google announced a new feature for their Drive file-sharing and storage service, one that has been oft-requested by those who no longer wish to share files with certain people: user blocking.

“Drive’s sharing capabilities fuel productivity and collaboration, but bad actors can abuse tools that are meant to facilitate helpful sharing,” Google said in an announcement post. “That’s why we are creating a way to block other users.”

The update will be gradually rolling out on the platform over the next couple of weeks. Any users that are blocked from a Drive account won’t be able to access any files you’ve previously shared with them, while also deleting any files they may have sent to you. They’ll also be prevented from interacting with you on other Google apps like Hangouts and Chat. Blocking a user will be as simple as right-clicking their profile and activating it, though it can also be deactivated later.

Google first announced they were working on this feature back in May after a BuzzFeed report detailing a user’s struggles to delete an image folder shared with an abusive ex-partner put pressure on them. The user wasn’t able to make use of the existing “report abuse” function, and had a lot of difficulty removing the folder entirely.

Follow @TwistityNews